The church of Agios Ioannis (St. John’s) is known to have existed during the Frankish period (13th-16th centuries AD), and served as the town’s Bishopric till the middle of the 18th century. The present church was built in 1715, with renovations made in 1853. The church is famous for its unique bell tower, which was reconstructed in the 19th century, and is one of the most distinctive on the island. The wood engraved iconostas is of the 18th century.